The Database Of All The Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales
Selected and Illustrated by Lisabeth Zweger
Picture Book
Ages 4 and up
Penguin, 1991, 0-698-40035-6
  Let us begin with the tales of the Sandman. Every night the Sandman visits a little boy called Hjalmar and every night he tells the boy a wonderful story or takes him on a remarkable journey into magical lands. Each perfect little tale will capture your imagination and send you into the world of sleep with images of great sailing ships, storks, and talking toys filling your mind.
  After the tales of the Sandman you can meet a grasshopper and a jumping jack who are determined to find out which of them can jump the highest, and then there is that familiar story of Thumbeline, the adventures of a little girl who is no bigger than the average mouse.
  In all Lisabeth Zweger shares eleven of Hans Christian Andersen’s extraordinary tales with us. Some are well known such as “The Emperor’s New Clothes” and “The Princess and the Pea.” Others like “The Sandman” and “The Naughty Boy” are less well known and will introduce the reader to a whole new family of characters. Delicate and whimsical illustrations capture the humor, beauty, and poignancy of the tales. The author of this outstanding anthology won the 1990 Hans Christian Andersen Medal for her lifetime contribution to children’s literature. Readers who enjoyed this book might like to look at Lisabeth Zweger’s other titles which include many of the tales written by the Brothers Grimm.

Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy tales


An Online Children’s Book Review Journal

Through The Looking Glass Children’s Book Reviews

Online book reviews for the child in your life featuring both new and popular children's book authors

Logo final





Kids book reviews, including book reviews of chapter books, novels, picture books, and non-fiction from famous children’s literature authors. Your review site of books for children.

Banner for bookstore2
Writing Services Box 2

Welcome to Through the Looking Glass Book Reviews. We have moved! Please visit the new site at to enjoy the new website.